Toronto Argonauts became the 109th Grey Cup Winner

Toronto Argonauts became the 109th Grey Cup Winner

Toronto Argonauts(1-0) won the 109th Grey Cup by crushing the winning streak of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers (0-1), 24-23, on November 20, at Mosaic Stadium, in Regina, Saskatchewan. Toronto became the 18th-time Grey Cup winner, the highest in CFL history. The Bombers failed to achieve three consecutive Grey Cups, which would be the sixth time for the Winnipeg franchise.

Toronto wound up itself 23-14 to begin the final quarter as Janarion Award from Winnipeg Blue Bombers took a punt return 102 yards to the house to start the last 15 minutes. Yet, the Toronto Argonauts stayed versatile in any event. At the start of the fourth quarter, QB McLeod Bethel-Thompson went down from the match with an injury, and reinforcement Chad Kelly had to come into the game.

Kelly drove the Argos down the field, and A.J. Ouellette covered off the drive with his second surging touchdown, pulling his squad ahead with approximately four minutes left. An obstructed field goal by Robbie Smith at the last moment fixed the victory of Toronto.

Why Did Toronto Win The 109th Grey Cup?

Henoc Muamba, the linebacker of the Toronto Argonauts, was the most significant player of the game and caught Zach Collaros to put the Toronto Argos at the Winnipeg 43-yard line with 3:20 to play. In any case, Nick Hallett, from Blue Bombers, impeded a 37-yard field goal of Bede to put Winnipeg at their 29-yard line with two minutes left.

In the wake of firing Collaros on second down, Robbie Smith got to the Winnipeg star again on third down. However, he was hailed for a penalty that assisted Blue Bombers with heading to the Toronto Argonauts’ 40-yard line.

However, a third-year Wilfrid Laurier’s player, Robbie Smith, compensated for the penalty by obstructing Marc Liegghio’s 47-yard endeavor. Argonauts got the ball with 43 seconds left at its 14-yard line and had the option to run out the clock for the shocking triumph.

Source: Twitter

Kelly completed 4-of-6 passing for 43 yards with the help of Bethel-Thompson, who finished 15-of-28 endeavors for 203 yards.

34-year-old Bethel-Thompson will take time this off-season to consider his football future. While he figures he has a lot of gas in the tank, Thompson concedes being away from his better half and youthful little girl this year was troublesome.

Toronto Argonaut’s triumph likewise acquired veteran recipient Brandon Banks’ most memorable Grey Cup title. Banks was showing up in his fifth title challenge, the past four accompanying Hamilton, which had lost the past two CFL title matches to Blue Bombers.

The defeat discolored an unparalleled exertion by Janarion Grant from Winnipeg Blue Bombers, who had a 102-yard punt return TD in the fourth. The Winnipeg endeavored to turn into the leading CFL group to win three consecutive Grey Cups since Edmonton Oilers caught five consecutive titles from 1978 to 1982.

Team Stats

Winnipeg Blue Bombers

1 2 3 4 T

0 10 7 6 23

Toronto Argonauts

1 2 3 4 T

3 4 7 10 24

Similar Posts